

## VALENCIA COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS RESOLUTION NO. 2023-06

## SIGNATURE AUTHORITY ON CHECKS

WHEREAS, the Valencia County Commission met upon notice of a Re-Organizational Business Meeting duly published on January 4, 2023 at 5:00 P.M. at the Valencia County Administration Building, 444 Luna Avenue, Los Lunas, New Mexico 87031; and,

WHEREAS, NMSA 1978, Section 4-45-4 (2001) provides in pertinent part that "[m]oney may be paid from the county treasury by check or warrant. If money is paid by check, the check must be signed by the chairman of the board of county commissioners or his designee and the county treasurer; "and,

WHEREAS, NMSA 1978 Section, 4-38-16 (1976) declares that it is a duty of the Board of County Commissioners to "[t]o examine and settle all accounts of the receipts and expenses of the county, and to examine and settle, and allow all accounts chargeable against the county, and when so settled they may issue county orders therefor as provided by law."

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Valencia County Commissioners delegates its authority to approve checks to the Chair of the Commission; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this delegation and the authorization of signatures on checks shall continue until replaced by future designations. This designation of signatures may be affixed to the form contract of deposit signature card of any financial institution issuing Valencia County checks, and shall incorporate the terms thereof, and all laws of the State of New Mexico and regulations of the Local Government Division of the Department of Finance and Administration, as if fully set out herein, and when so affixed, shall constitute full and sufficient authorization of the banking institution to honor signatures upon such checks.

## APPROVED, ADOPTED, AND PASSED on this 4<sup>th</sup> day of January 2023.

## **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS**

Gerard Saiz

Commissioner, District I

Morris Sparkman

Commissioner, District III

Troy Richardson

Commissioner, District II

Joseph Bizzell

Commissioner, District IV

Jhonathan Aragon

Commissioner, District V

Attest

Mike Milam, County Clerk