

RESOLUTION № 2023-23

SUPPORTING HOUSE BILL 344 AND SENATE BILL 124 OF THE 57TH LEGISLATURE

WHEREAS, the Valencia County Board of Commissioners met upon notice of a Business Meeting, duly published, at the Valencia County Administration Building, 444 Luna Avenue, Los Lunas, New Mexico 87031 on Wednesday, April 6, 2022, at 5:00 PM as required by law; and,

WHEREAS, counties experienced a substantial increase in staff vacancies during the COVID-19 pandemic; and,

WHEREAS, persistent vacancies have interfered with the county's ability to provide essential services to its community; and,

WHEREAS, Valencia County currently has 17% vacancy in the Fire Department, 22% vacancy in the Detention Department, and 8% vacancy in the Sheriff's Office; and,

WHEREAS, high vacancy rates in sheriff, detention, and fire departments are particularly serious because they implicate the health, safety, and wellbeing of existing county staff and the public we serve; and,

WHEREAS, HB344 would authorize return to work for retirees interested in working as detention officers in county detention facilities at least 90 days after retirement; and,

WHEREAS, SB124 would authorize return to work for retirees interested in working in all sectors of county government at least twelve months after retirement; and,

WHEREAS, both bills are drafted in a way that would not harm and would have some positive effect on the PERA fund; and,

WHEREAS, the New Mexico Counties Board of Directors has unanimously voted to support both bills and has selected HB334 as a priority for New Mexico Counties; and,

WHEREAS, SB124 is supported by Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of the County of Valencia that it expresses its strong support for HB 344 and SB 124 for the reasons

stated herein and respectfully requests the representatives and senators in legislative delegation for Valencia County to support both bills.

APPROVED, ADOPTED AND RESOLVED this 1st day of March 2023.

Joseph Bizzell, District IV

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Gerard Saiz, Chair, District

Jhonathan Aragon, Vice-Chair, District V

Troy/Richardson, District II

Morris R. Sparkman, District III

1

Mike Milam, County Clerk