

## CODIFYING THE NEW MEXICO ENABLING ACT

ORDINANCE NO: 2023-04
PASSED: 10/18/23

**EFFECTIVE DATE: 30 DAYS** 



## CODIFYING THE NEW MEXICO ENABLING ACT

## PREAMBLE:

WHEREAS, the Valencia County Board of Commissioners met upon notice of a Business Meeting, duly published, at the Valencia County Administration Building, 444 Luna Avenue, Los Lunas, New Mexico 87031 on October 4, 2023, at 5:00 PM as required by law; and,

WHEREAS, NMSA 1978, Section 3-18-1 (1972) provides that municipalities, and also counties pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 4-37-1 (1995), have the power to "protect generally the property of its municipality and its inhabitants" and to "preserve peace and order"; and,

**WHEREAS**, NMSA 1978, Section 4-37-1 *et seq*. (1975) provides that counties may adopt ordinances, not inconsistent with statutory or constitutional limitations placed on counties, to discharge those powers necessary and proper to provide for the safety, preserve the health, promote the prosperity and improve the morals, order, comfort and convenience of the county and its inhabitants.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED by the Valencia County Board of Commissioners that Valencia County will not recognize nor enforce any State Law, Mandate or Order that violates or is contrary to, the provisions of the Enabling Act for New Mexico. The ratification of the "Compact with the United States" and Proclamation Admitting New Mexico as a State into the Union on January 6, 1912, established the State of New Mexico is an inseparable part of the federal union and the Constitution of the United States as the supreme law of the land.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER ORDAINED** by the Valencia County Board of Commissioners that any Law, Mandate or Order issued by the Government of the State of New Mexico or agent thereof that is contrary to the Constitution of the United States is void and not enforceable within the boundaries of this County.

## ADOPTED, APPROVED AND ORDAINED on this 18 day of cotoBen 2023.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Gerard Saiz
Chairman, District I

Troy Richardson
Commissioner, District II

Oseph Bizzell
Commissioner, District IV

Michael Milam, County Clerk